This fourth church structure to be built by the St. Paul’s Episcopal parishioners, is located at the corner of Duval Street & Eaton Street and was designed in Romanesque architectural style.
At the corner of Duval Street and Eaton Street, the St. Paul’s Church was originally built in 1839 and constructed of coral stone. It was destroyed by a hurricane in 1846.
A replacement church constructed of wood was opened in 1848, and it too was destroyed – this time by the Great Fire of 1886.
A third church was built in 1887, again constructed of wood, and again was destroyed by hurricane in 1909.
The present-day church we see today in this picture was constructed of concrete in 1919.