At the corner of Duval Street and Eaton Street, the St. Paul’s Church was originally built in 1839 and constructed of coral stone. It was destroyed by a hurricane in 1846.
A replacement church constructed of wood was opened in 1848, and it too was destroyed – this time by the Great Fire of 1886.
A third church was built in 1887, again constructed of wood, and again was destroyed by hurricane in 1909.
The present-day church we see today in this picture was constructed of concrete in 1919.